Diversity and Inclusion: 2017 in Review

Natalie Rogers December 20, 2017
This year was a year of firsts and lasts. Near the beginning of the year, we honored Dr. Michael Heagy and Dr. Jose Cerrato with our very first NM EPSCoR Mentoring Award.

2017 Mentoring Award recipients at the April 2017 All Hands Meeting. Left: nominators Sumant Avasarala and Carmen Velasco, Anne Jakle, mentoring award recipient José Cerrato, advisor Mehdi Ali, Chelsea Chee; Right: Anne Jakle, nominator Hanqing Pan, mentoring award recipient Michael Heagy, Chelsea Chee

Over the summer, our fourth and final STEM Advancement Program cohort of 12 students made up our most diverse cohort yet. They represented the following institutions:
  • Central New Mexico Community College
  • Navajo Technical University
  • New Mexico Highlands University
  • New Mexico State University Grants Campus
  • San Juan College
  • University of New Mexico Valencia Campus
  • Western New Mexico University

2017 STEMAP Cohort. From left to right: – top row – Chelsea Chee, Angel Jordan, Shantal Smart, Antonella Riega, Shaylene Paul, and Krista Robbins; – bottom row – Javier Ledesma, Mark Howeya, Josiah Cleveland, Sam Olguin, Danielsen Moreno, Lyman Pinto, Elijah Naranjo, and Dr. Michael Heagy

When autumn started, the Natives in STEM project unveiled three brand-new posters.

2017 Natives in STEM posters. From left to right (click names to download full size posters): Aaron Yazzie, engineering; Franklin Dollar, physics; Vaniesha Honani, software

2017 brought recognition to our great mentors, goal achievement for STEMAP, and shed light on three Native STEM professionals. 2018 better be ready!