November 28, 2022

2022 NMRS Recap

event attendees


By Sara Pichette


Check out the event photo highlight reel on our Youtube channel by clicking here.

After two years online, the 2022 New Mexico Research Symposium (NMRS) returned in person, welcoming over 150 people from all over the state. Held at The University of New Mexico Student Union Building in Albuquerque on Saturday, November 5th, this year's programming saw old favorites and welcomed additions in one jam-packed day. Hosted in collaboration with the New Mexico Academy of Science (NMAS), the Symposium kicked off with four themed Oral Sessions ranging from NASA EPSCoR to Chemistry. To view the Oral Session abstracts, click here

Next, researchers from 11 different institutions presented nearly 40 posters on topics ranging from tree growth in water versus soil and using machine learning techniques to examine patterns in science fiction novels. Posters were judged throughout the session, with winners announced at the end of the event. To view the Poster Session abstracts, click here

Keynote speaker
Photo by Bret Latter



We were thrilled to welcome this year’s keynote speaker, David Bustos, Resources Program Manager at White Sands National Park, New Mexico. His presentation “Life before the Ice Melted: Racing to preserve fossil footprints and traces of people from 23,000 years ago” presented? findings of 61 human footprints 10 millennia older than Clovis humans. 



SLAM participants
Photo by Bret Latter



The most exciting addition to this year's event was the Rio Grande Research SLAM. The SLAM’s 12 contestants from each of the four New Mexico Research Institutions (Air Force Research Laboratory, Los Alamos National Lab, Sandia National Laboratories, New Mexico EPSCoR) competed in the regional event. Using one static slide, contestants had three minutes to present their research to judges and the audience. To view this year’s winners, click here


Finally, as scores were tabulated, NMAS and the Central New Mexico Chapter of the American Chemical Society presented the 2022 Outstanding NM Science Teachers Awards. This year had two outstanding recipients. First, Hope Cahill, Ph.D., 6th Grade Science Teacher, El Dorado Community School in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Second, Colleen Fordyce, Ph.D., Biology, AP Biology, Chemistry, Physics Teacher at La Cueva High School in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Congratulations! 

outstanding teacher
Photo by Bret Latter
outstanding teacher
Photo by Bret Latter










Thank you to the 2022 NMRS partners: the New Mexico Academy of Science, the Central New Mexico Chapter of the  American Chemical Society, New Mexico Space Grant, UNM Center for Water and the Environment, National Center for Genome Resources, NM INBRE, Sandia National Laboratories, Air Force Research Laboratory, and Los Alamos National Lab. Thank you to the 22 poster judges for lending your time and insights. 


Congratulations to the following poster session winners:

Graduate Winners:


1poster competition winnerst place

Zhirui Luo, NMT

A Deep Attention Network for Non-intrusive Building Occupancy Detection Using Smart Meters

Check out the article NMT wrote about them:






poster competition winner2nd Place

Pedro Castillo Gomez, NMSU

“Wall-Modeled Large Eddy Simulations of Turbulent Boundary Layer over a Flat-Plate for Aero-Optical Distortion Analysis”






poster competition winner3rd Place

Chimezie Onukwuli, ENMU

“Synthesis of Carbonyl-Functionalized p-Phenylenes for Probing Electron Delocalization”






Undergraduate Winners:


student winnerstudent winner1st Place

Adrian Maez and Casie Taylor, NMT

“Model and Power Flow Analysis of a Distribution Feeder using Data Recorded from Buildings, Facilities, and a Photovoltaic System”


Check out the article NMT wrote about them:



poster competition winner2nd Place

Stephen Villanueva, ENMU

“Analyzing the Golden Age of Science Fiction: A Topic Modeling Approach”






poster competition winner3rd Place

Matthew Kube, ENMU

“A Machine Learning Approach for Optimizing Antenna Design”

Here is a Facebook post by ENMU EETP bragging about him: