Event Category: Engineering

Product Compliance

Presented by: UNM Mechanical Engineering alumna Tennielle Bernard

This workshop series is OPEN TO ALL students (non-UNM, branch campuses, community college, and tribal college students more than welcome!) This opportunity is specifically recommended for graduating Seniors or Graduate Students. Juniors and non-graduating Seniors are welcome to join.

NM SMART Grid Center Project Highlights from Year 3

Every year the New Mexico SMART Grid Center submits three highlights from the previous project year to the National Science Foundation. This year's highlights recognize "DC Street" at NMSU, seed award results from NMT, and the Explora Science Communication Fellowship program. Below are overviews of what these outstanding project team members are working on - summarized in 250 words or less. 

Olga Lavrova, New Mexico State University

UNM Signs Agreement to Collaborate with Siemens Industry at Mesa del Sol Microgrid

Brittney Van Der Werff

On September 30th, the University of New Mexico announced a joint agreement with Siemens Industry to begin collaborations at the UNM-owned microgrid at Mesa del Sol. Located in Albuquerque, the Mesa del Sol microgrid is one of three NM SMART Grid Center project testbeds, the others being Southwest Technology Development Institute at NMSU and the greenhouse complex at Santa Fe Community College, where project team members can test research out on actual equipment.

Five New Faculty Join the NM SMART Grid Center Team

Brittney Van Der Werff

The NM SMART Grid Center warmly welcomes five new faculty members to the project team this Fall. Included in this esteemed cohort of STEM professionals are Dr. Yuting Yang and Dr. Claus Danielson at the University of New Mexico (UNM), Dr. Sihua Shao at New Mexico Institute for Mining and Technology (NMT), and Dr. Fengyu Wang and Dr. Hamed Nademi at New Mexico State University (NMSU). 


2020 NM EPSCoR Mentor Award Recipients Announced

Brittney Van Der Werff

We are delighted to announce this year’s NM EPSCoR Mentor Award recipients—Dr. Olga Lavrova and Dr. Ali Bidram. Nominated by their mentees, both of this year’s recipients stand out for their exceptional efforts to build strong professional and interpersonal relationships with students; advance their mentees’ academic, research, and professional goals; and create inclusive environments for diverse students. Please join us in recognizing Dr. Lavrova and Dr. Bidram for their outstanding work in mentoring the students who will define New Mexico’s diverse future workforce.